Friday, May 18, 2018

Good News For A Change by Matt Mikalatos

I found this book to be very enlightening.  The author is a missionary who has worked with students and groups of people over the years.  Using his approach, you can talk to just about anyone about Jesus.  He takes any opening he can get for a discussion with an individual or makes an opening by listening carefully to the other persons beliefs and feelings and asking questions.  One of his main points is to drop the churchy jargon and talk in a way that would make sense to the person you are talking to.  Another excellent point he makes is that everyone wants to hear the good news, they just don’t want to be bombarded by a pushy sales pitch.  Also, you just provide the information  The Holy Spirit does the rest.

I found this book to be informative and relatable.  Many non-fiction, informative books are hard to read but I enjoyed this one so much that I read it cover to cover the evening I received it .

I received this book from Tyndale House in exchange for a review.  I would highly recommend this book to others.

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Blind Betrayal by Nancy Mehl

This is another book in Nancy Mehl’s Defenders of Justice series.

U.S. Marshall, Casey Sloane, is in charge of transporting a witness to Washington, DC to testify about  a drug kingpin and a senator that the witness (a reporter) has found information about.  As she and her partner, Doug, and another Marshall from D.C. (Casey’s old partner E. J. Queen) are getting ready to transport the witness there is an explosion in the U.S. Marshall’s office in St. Louis where Casey and Doug are stationed.  Because of the chaos and injuries there, they are forced to take off virtually on their own to get the witness to D.C. without the usual backup and support they would have.  It gets crazy as they try to outsmart the people chasing them without being able to contact their supervisor for information and support. 

This story takes some interesting twists and turns and keeps the reader waiting on edge to find out how it will all come out.  I really enjoy Nancy Mehl’s books and I think I have read them all – except the next one!  I love the fact that her characters are Christians without being overly “churchy” about it.  It’s just part of who they are, as it should be. 

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for a review. 

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

The Kremlin Conspiracy by Joel Rosenberg

This book is one you won’t want to put down once you pick it up.  It keeps building right to the end.  This is about two men, one in Russia and one in the United States, who reach the highest levels of Government service.  They have similar life stories, albeit in different countries and forms of government.  Their paths cross in the course of their work but they suddenly become directly involved when their countries are in the midst of an International crisis.

This is the second political thriller I have read by Joel Rosenberg and both were well researched and could have been plucked out of current news headlines.  I loved how the personal lives of the two men were established and how Joel wove the main character’s faith into the story. 

I received this book from Tyndale in exchange for a review.

Check it out! A Sneak preview:

Saturday, March 24, 2018

A Chance at Forever by Melissa Jagears

Mercy McClain is confronted by her childhood nemesis Aaron Firebrook when he applies for a teaching position at the school where she is a member of the school board.  Arron (then called George) had been a bully and had offended multiple people in his younger days.  While waiting for the school board’s decision, Aaron takes a job as groundskeeper at the mansion of a local couple who has orphans from the city’s red light district in residence.  As it turns out, Mercy is also employed there to take care of the orphans. As the summer progresses, Mercy starts to see Aaron in a different light.

The name of the town intrigued me because the book tells us that the setting is Southeast Kansas.  Since I grew up in Southeast Kansas, I know the layout pretty well.  The picture of the mansion on the cover has a striking resemblance to a mansion that is a tourist attraction in SE Kansas.  The fictional town name is Teaville and there is no town by that name.  But there is a town name Coffeyville and the book mentions a nearby town (Caney) a couple of times so I think that pretty well nails it down.  I will have to do some research into Coffeyville’s history out of sheer curiosity now.

I really enjoyed this book, although as a person who was a foster parent for many years and now a grandparent to adopted children, I think the author’s view of outcomes for adoption of older children is a bit more cut and dried than the reality but that’s what romantic fiction is for – a feel good ending.  That is what I want in a story when I read this type of fiction.

Bountiful Blessings by Susie Larson

This is a book of short devotionals that would be a great start to your Bible reading time / Quiet Time.  Each devotion (or actually to be more accurate – encouragement) is not very long – one scripture and one accompanying paragraph.  The facing page is an intricate picture that you can color with colored pencils.  This is a lovely little paperback book and it fits into small spaces.  It’s not very thick.  I loved all the pictures.  My favorite is the fox on page 79.  I would love to color that and have it enlarged and put in a frame.  I love foxes and this one is really nice. 

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

Sunday, March 11, 2018

God Made The World by Sarah Jean Collins

This is a fun board book that basically outlines the 7 days of Creation.  I used this in my Kindergarten homeschool class and the kids love it.  It tells the story very concisely just like the Bible does. The illustrations are bold and colorful.  It is a quick read if you just flip through,but if you take time to discuss each day of Creation with the children, it makes for a very satisfying session.

I received this book from Tyndale in exchange for a review.

If I Live, If I Run Series, Book 3, by Terri Blackstock

Wow!  This book was everything I anticipated and more.  What a great ending to the story.  There is suspense aplenty as Casey Cox and Dylan Roberts find themselves in one life-threatening situation after another and it seems like it's not going to end well.  Then, in the nick of time, something happens to pull them out of that particular danger, although another one is just around the corner.  I couldn't put this book down.  I love all of Terri Blackstock's books and series but this one really had me enthralled the entire time.  Highly recommend!